Awards 2017

The ANC awards promote and recognise excellence among UK acoustic consultants and raise the profile of acoustics. The Awards look for examples of work that displays innovation, and originality in acoustic design or approach to a particular project.

This year’s winners were revealed on Wednesday 21st June and the awards were presented by James Woudhuysen, forecasting and innovation specialist and visiting professor at LSBU. All the shortlisted entrants gave a five minute presentation in the afternoon and an award (sponsored by AcSoft Ltd) was given for the best presentation based on the votes of the audience.


Architectural Acoustics: Commercial Buildings – sponsored by H & H Acoustic Technologies

      • WINNER: Hoare Lea  (Hanover House, Reading)
      • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Sandy Brown Associates  (YouTube Space, London)
      • COMMENDED: SRL Technical Services   (Dubai Opera House Mechanical Services)

Architectural Acoustics: Education Buildings – sponsored by Ecophon

      • WINNER: Sandy Brown Associates  (New Adelphi Building, Salford University)
      • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Adrian James Acoustics (Gresham’s Britten Building, Norfolk)
      • COMMENDED: Pace Consult  (The Oculus Building, Warwick University)

Environmental Noise – sponsored by ANV Measurement Systems

      • WINNER: Apex Acoustics   (United House, Swanley)
      • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Southdowns Environmental Consultants  (Ministry of Defence Land Ranges)
      • COMMENDED: AECOM  (Thames Tideway Tunnel)

Small Projects – sponsored by Bruel & Kjaer

      • WINNER: Apex Acoustics  (TupTup Palace,  Newcastle upon Tyne)
      • HIGHLY COMMENDED: AECOM  (Acoustic Shell for Theatre Royal, Glasgow)
      • COMMENDED: Red Twin  (Sound Insulation & Flanking Assessment using Field Measurements of Sound Intensity)

Vibration – sponsored by Pliteq

      • WINNER: Cole Jarman  (The Francis Crick Institute, London)
      • HIGHLY COMMENDED: WSP  (Berkeley Hotel, London)
      • COMMENDED: RBA Acoustics  (Omeara and The Flat Iron Square Project, Southwark)

Best Presentation – sponsored by AcSoft

  • WINNER: Adrian James Acoustics (Gresham’s Britten Building)

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all those on the shortlist or who submitted entries this year.

Awards Brochure
Download the ANC Awards brochure 2017 giving details of the winners and all the shortlisted projects

For photos of the winners and the event click here.


The Association thanks the judges for their hard work in assessing this year’s awards:

  • Sue Bird (chair of judges)
  • Claire Barton, Haverstock
  • Tom Brodowski, Noise & Vibration Engineering
  • Joe Cilia, Finishes & Interiors Sector
  • Stephen Dance, London South Bank University
  • Phil Dunbavin, PDA
  • Andy Moorhouse, Salford University
  • John Pritchard, Derby University
  • Stephen Turner, ST Acoustics
  • David Waddington, Salford University
  • Somayya Yaqub. LB Hammersmith & Fulham

The 2017 Awards are sponsored by:

hh-acoustic-tech-logo-positive    pliteq_logo_original_tagline-copy

Combined ANV Rion and Profound Logo

acsoft_250                     bk-logo-with-tagline